Book Talk: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella 2.png

“Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.”

When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all—not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.

Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfield fandom has already dismissed him as just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Wow, this is such a cute and fun Cinderella re-telling. It was a very quick read for me because all the characters are already so familiar and are quite faithful to the original Cinderella story. Also, this is the first re-telling I’ve EVER read and I immensely enjoyed it! ❤ Here are the some reasons why I recommend this book:

heart divider

THE FANDOM. I felt like the whole Starfield fandom was so nicely developed that even I rooted for Prince Carmindor and Princess Amara. I felt like I was part of the millions who are attending the ExelciCon Cosplay ball and I was so invested the whole time. I’m not really the type who’d actually join fandoms in real life coz I just usually keep all the fan-feels to myself, but this book made me really wanna be part of one! It was such a refreshing experience!

tenor

DARIEN FREEMAN aka PRINCE CARMINDOR is a closet fanboy! ❤ Our Prince Charming here is a rising Hollywood star who has secrets of his own! I just love him  to bits. And oh, a huge plus for Carmindor? He’s a PoC! Gah, I just love it when authors introduce characters who are diverse. ❤ It just made me love Darien even more.

vhg

ELLE is so relatable. Loved her from the beginning til the very last page! She’s angsty but really sweet at the same time. So many times I felt her pains and I just love it when I feel a character even if we’re not really going through the same stuff. And her fighting spirit? Man, she’s girl power personified. ❤

Finally, I liked how it was faithful to the original Cinderella story but different at the same time. The stepmom was hate-worthy, the stepsisters were evil, the dad was portrayed perfectly. ❤ Ahhh, this was such a homey read for me. I felt like I was in a very familiar world, yet I am seeing everything in a new light as well. 🙂

giphy.gif


Have you guys read Geekerella by Ashley Poston? What did you think of it? 🙂 As for me, I would definitely recommend this one, especially if you are looking for a quick, fun and romantic read! ❤

Screen Shot 2016-08-27 at 10.36.49 PM


screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-1-03-00-pm

2 thoughts on “Book Talk: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Leave a Reply

