Book Talk: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-12-51-13-pm

Writing this review right after I just closed the last page of the book and I am wanting for more. I mean, it couldn’t have ended with that, right? Please tell me it didn’t end with JUST that? I need more.

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-12-58-33-pm

7664334Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip – and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar – especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory – but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-12-58-45-pm

Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour is the second book I’ve read from Morgan Matson’s works, the first being Since You’ve Been Gone. I guess it would be fair to note, before I continue this review, that Since You’ve Been Gone has set the bar really really high. I think it made my Top 15 of 2015, giving it almost a 5-star rating. Anyway, back to Amy and Roger’s, I believe Morgan Matson was of a different approach in writing this story.

Being a road-trip novel, of course I expected being taken to different places and to the different states of the United Sates of America, no less. In this regard, this book was excellent. Amy and Roger’s trip, from the very beginning, was a very interesting and enjoyable one right from the very first state they visited. I loved that there were also pictures of the places they went to, the receipts, the quotes etc. The book became cooler that it already is because of the inserts.

However, although it was pegged to be a road trip novel, I also expected that half of the reading experience would also dwell into character and plot development. In my opinion, however, this part was not very well done. Do not get me wrong, I liked how Amy was able to conquer her fear in the end, and how she is able to “find herself” again. It’s just that, I found this quite underdeveloped. Even for Roger’s part, I would say that what he felt in the end was quite very expected. I would love love love to see more of Amy and more of Roger, than the states they visited, quite honestly.

Again, don’t take this the wrong way, it was a nice and fun experience, being with Amy and Roger in their road trip and all that. I just felt that something was missing.

Despite that, however, I have been picking up bits and pieces of life advice in this book, which fact I really really loved.

Screen Shot 2017-04-18 at 6.43.32 PMheart dividerScreen Shot 2017-04-18 at 6.43.48 PM

heart dividerScreen Shot 2017-04-18 at 6.43.36 PM

heart dividerScreen Shot 2017-04-18 at 6.43.52 PM

 


Overall, I liked the book: I had a good reading experience and it definitely has a unique way of interacting with the reader. I just wish some parts were developed more. If you’re into road trips and a steady YA read, I would recommend it!

Screen Shot 2016-08-27 at 10.36.57 PM

Have you read Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour yet? What did you think about it? Any Morgan Matson books that I should definitely get into? Tell me in the comments below! Let’s talk!

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-1-03-00-pm

8 thoughts on “Book Talk: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

  1. Great Review Kat. I liked this book as well but also left it feeling like something was missing, for me the ending wasn’t enough and I felt rather disappointed. I wanted to know how Amy and her Mother dealt with each other when she returned home and if they moved forward and I would of like to see a glimpse into Roger and Amy too once they returned home. Would they work out? I wasn’t wanting another 200 pages or anything just something that left me feeling like it was resolved more roundly if you get me?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this book years ago, but I remember really loving it! I adore road trip stories, and this one is just so sweet. Also, the lists and pictures and fake scrapbook pages were really cute as well. Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely review, Kat! I’m glad to hear you overall enjoyed this book – I think it’s my favorite from the author. I love a good road trip story and thought the characters were very sweet and I loved seeing Amy’s evolution in the story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

