2017 Reading Challenges!

Screen Shot 2017-02-16 at 1.32.16 PM

2017 is definitely going to be my year! I’m already claiming it! It will rock and it will definitely be a good one! Oops, pardon the excitement, I guess I’m just too happy that 2016 is finally over! ๐Ÿ™‚ Let me do a proper introduction now.

Happy new year, lovely readers of this blog! I am wishing all of you a good year ahead, reading-wise and just with life in general. As you may have seen in my previous post, 2016 hasn’t been very good to me. Things got super cray-cray, and that includes my reading, and Iย definitely, DEFINITELY!, intend to change that this year! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Last year, the only reading challenge I joined in was the Goodreads Reading Challenge. I pledged to read 20 books, and I was able to surpass it and read 27. I know, I know, this is probably one of the all-time lows in history of the GR reading challenge but like I said, bad year!ย ๐Ÿ˜… This year, however, I intend to join more reading challenges and I couldn’t be more excited!


1. Goodreads 2017 Reading Challenge

 

screen-shot-2017-01-03-at-6-28-31-pm

I’m doing a big jump from 20 to 75 because why not! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m finally free from school and I think I’d be able to read more this year! ๐Ÿ™‚ I have been joining this reading challenge since 2012 and my 2017 is definitely going to be incomplete without me joining it again! Here’s to completing all 75 and hopefuly more!


2. Beat the Backlist Challenge hosted by Novel Knight

beatthebacklist

Theย Beat the Backlistย Challenge is focused on knocking off titles that have been on your TBR for a while, or even ones that get pushed aside for new releases. It will run from January 1st to December 31st 2017 – a whole year of sweeping off that TBR pile that has been sitting in my shelves since forever!

I will be posting my list for this challenge soonest!ย 


3. Hogwarts House Mini Challenge hosted by Novel Knight

screen-shot-2017-01-03-at-8-33-38-pm

This challenge stems from the Beat the Backlist challenge mentioned above. Basically, you declare which Hogwarts house you will be reader for. At the end of each month, the house with the most readers will be declared the winner! I’m a proud Ravenclawย and we’re definitely winning this one! ๐Ÿ™‚ย 


4. Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge 2017 hosted by Alexalovesbooks

screen-shot-2017-01-03-at-8-31-33-pm

This challenge is perfect for my 2017 goal of reading more Fantasy! Even before seeing this, I resolved myself to pick more fantasy reads because I know I have been missing out a lot! The challenge will run from January 1st til December 31st 2017, and the goal is to read any number of fantasy books during the year. I am pledgingย to read 25 fantasy novels! It’s not my strongest genre, but I’m definitely challenging myself this year! ๐Ÿ™‚


5. Read the Books You Buy Reading Challenge 2017 hosted by The Book Date

read-the-books-you-buy-2017

This is probably the most practical reading challenge ever! It’s as easy as it sounds! You have to list all the books you’re buying in 2017 and you mark them off as you read them! There is then going to be a mid-year check up on how everybody is doing and an end of the year one in December!


6. Retellings Reading Challenge 2017 hosted by Once Upon a Bookcase

rrc2017-graphic_zpsfhdoso74

The goal is to read as many re-tellings as you can in 2017 based on your chosen level, which are the following:

  • Easy: 1-4 retellings
  • Medium: 5-8 retellings
  • Hard: 9-12 retellings
  • Difficult: 12+ retellings

Since I’m fairly new with the genre, I’m picking the Easy level ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m hoping to reach the Medium level, though, but I don’t wanna risk it for now! Teehee. I’m starting with Cinder very soon!


7. 2017 New Adult Reading Challenge hosted by The Girl Who Read Too Much

header-final

This one’s probably my most anticipated reading challenge for 2017! Again, the goal is to read as many NA books as you possibly can throughout the year. The categories are the following:

  • NA Newbieย โ€“ 6 books
  • NA Initiateย โ€“ 12 books
  • NA Intermediateย โ€“ 24 books
  • NA Advancedย โ€“ 36 books
  • NA Expertย โ€“ 50 books
  • NA Queen/King (special category)ย โ€“ 100 books

For now, I’m looking at the NA Initiate level! Let’s see how things go from there! ๐Ÿ™‚ Another post about the challenge will also be up soon!


That’s it for now, guys! I’ve been binge-joining reading challenges and I’m getting more and more excited for what this year has to offer! ๐Ÿ™‚

What challenges are you joining? Let’s chat in comments box below!

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-1-03-00-pm

4 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenges!

  1. I most certainly wish I read fast enough to do one backlist per every reading solicited reading commitment but alas I suck so therefore I cannot. SO, I must live vicarious through your experience! I’m definitely more of a fan of watching retellings on film (like, c’mon, all the Amanda Byne movies?!) than reading the book. But to be fair, I’m sure I’ve read a few retellings without even knowing they were of that subgenre haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

