Book Review: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-12-51-13-pm

onedaysoon-amazon

Before I begin this review, I would already warn you right off the bat that I wouldn’t be able to give justice to the beauty of this book. My words wouldn’t be enough and I don’t think I’d be able to fully grasp in here how life-shattering and life-changing this book is. No, I am not exaggerating. I swear to heavens I am not.

 

OneDaySoon-Amazon-683x1024

 

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-12-58-33-pm

 

 

 

He found me in blood and tears.

I stayed with him through darkness and fire.

We loved each other in the moment between innocence and bitter truth.
We were the kids easily ignored, who grew into adults we hardly knew.

We weren’t meant to last forever. And we didn’t.

He ran away.
I tried to move on.

Yet I never stopped thinking about the boy who had fought to keep me alive in a world that would have swallowed me whole. He was the past that I buried, but never forgot.

Until the day I found him again, years after believing I had lost him forever.

And in cold, resentful eyes, I saw the heart of the man who had been everything when I had nothing at all. So I vowed to hold onto the second chance that was stolen from the children we had been.

Sometimes fate is ugly. Life can be twisted.
And who we are can be ruined by who we once were.

For two people who had survived so much, we would have to learn how to hold on before we were forced to let go.

One Day Soon is one of our books of the month over at #NALitLoversPH, a fairly new group of book bloggers from the Philippines. We are composed of Pearl, Bea, Jam, Claire, Rechellyn, Allie, and yours truly. We are all kinda into new adult romance and we plan on reading at least a couple of books a month. Needless to say, everybody was just super excited to jumpstart this monthly read-alongs and so we all decided to pick One Day Soon by A.Meredith Walters as our first kill. The irony? It was the one that killed us. It wasn’t what we expected at all.

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-12-58-45-pm

One Day Soon shattered me.

It was a tale of love, loss, pain, and sacrifice. Imogen Conner and Yoss Frazier have been so much in love in their younger years. They were inseparable, and it seemed that not even the universe could take them away from each other. They loved, and they loved so hard. But apparently fate has different plans and life decided to interfere and take its own course. Fifteen years later, however, Imogen and Yoss met again.

This is probably the heaviest book I’ve read in the past couple of years, emotionally speaking. Lately, I have been veering away from overly emotional stories because I can’t afford to be emotionally unstable while reviewing for the bar πŸ™‚ But I guess reading this one is sorta really meant to happen. One Day Soon does not only talk about young love and finding it again after how many years in the future. It is not your usual New Adult book, and I’m not even sure if it should be classified under that genre.

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 1.23.23 AM

It touches on so many social issues that are so real and so raw that you could actually feel Imi and Yoss like they’re just there, real and breathing. I know I don’t make any sense because I haven’t really discussed what happened and what real-and-raw stuff I’m talking about, it’s just I’m afraid I’m going to have to spoil you guys if I talk about all those things.

Reading One Day Soon made me realize that I could lose everything in a snap of a finger. It also made me realize that love isn’t at all happy – it is painful, it is difficult, it is so consuming to the point of destruction. But we want it, anyway. We need it.

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 1.21.57 AM

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 12.29.10 AM

I have so many things to say about One Day Soon, I swear. In fact, I am writing this review 24 hours after I closed the last page just to give myself some sort of composure to talk about it properly, but I guess I need so much more than a day to recover.

Guys, I totally totally recommend this one. You are not gonna believe everything that’s happened and how it all turned out in the end. It was heartbreakingly beautiful. Sooo soo beautiful. Definitely giving it 5 stars!

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 1.33.05 AM

screen-shot-2017-02-16-at-1-03-00-pm

 

12 thoughts on “Book Review: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters

  1. Pingback: Review: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters | Pearl's Book Journey

  2. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters – infinitetbrlist

  3. Pingback: Book Review: One Day Soon – Heartscent Reads

  4. Pingback: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters | Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic

  5. Pingback: Review: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters – The Coffeeholic Bookworm

Leave a Reply

