BOOK IN MY BAG #1

Book in my Bag is a feature of this blog where I talk about my current read – the book that is currently IN MY BAG and the one that I currently bring everywhere. It’s just like your little what-I’m-reading-at-the-moment update so I can share with you guys all the feels I’m having during those times when I can’t post yet a full blown review of what I’m reading! πŸ™‚Β 

Screen Shot 2016-01-06 at 7.21.21 PM

Being on a slump sucks. And since I have been in a huge huge reading slump for four months now, I have nothing to review and nothing to wrap up as the month of May came and ended.

Thank heavens, though, I found something up in my Kindle that really caught my attention and is now consuming all my free time and all of meΒ – and that isΒ The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay!

The-Sea-of-Tranquility-Original-Cover

I didn’t know this book was such a huge thing a couple of years back! It was published in 2012 and I can’t believe that I discovered it just now. Bummer.

So I was browsing through my Kindle hoping to find something that would drag me out of this lonesome and very depressing reading slump. Lo and behold, I accidentally tapped The Sea of Tranquility and it was love at first chapter. This book and I? We’re meant to be.

 

So far I am really loving it. The writing, I would say, is one of the best features of this book, and one of the best in the history of all YA novels that I’ve read so far – it’s deep but easily understood; it’s metaphoric but simple, if you know what I mean. Katja Millay’s writing is just incredibly poetic but straight forward both at the same time. It’s beautiful! It’s beautiful.

The characters, too, are not your usual YA heroes and heroines. Josh and Nastya are very independent and strong characters and they both bring a breath of freshΒ air on how people Β are usually depicted in the young adult genre.

Anyway, I’m still at 32% right now and I’ll probably finish this in a couple of days, since I still have exams the week this blog post goes live. I could’ve finished this book in one sitting because of how gripping and consuming it could be, but reality is that there is school to attend to and there is life to live outside so…

I will post my review soonest ‘coz I’m really excited to post all the feels I have for this book! ❀ I cannot wait! πŸ™‚

Have you guys read this? What did you think of Josh and Nastya?

Also, what book is currently in your bag (or purse or pocket or wherever)? What are you currently reading? Β Can’t wait to hear from all of you! πŸ™‚

Happy reading!

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 8.44.32 PM

7 thoughts on “BOOK IN MY BAG #1

  1. I have never heard of this book, but it has a beautiful cover and that’s enough to sell me. πŸ™‚ I will look it up on Goodreads!

    Like

Leave a Reply

