Top Ten Tuesday #1: 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t!

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 12.28.39 PM

2015 was a year of great book releases. But it was also the year I entered my senior year in law school and defended my thesis (which was my whole life during that time!) so I really didn’t get to catch all the good books published that year. There were so many anticipated books for me in 2015 but I just kept on adding them in my Goodreads TBR list without really getting into them. Anyway, here’s my top 10 of the books released in 2015 I meant to get into but didn’t! I really hope to get to read them soon! πŸ™‚Β 

10. Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Illuminae

 

Illuminae is a young adult sci-fi novel. It so hyped in booktube primarily because of its cover and the way it was actually written – there were erasures and markings and lots of annotations I believe and it just made reading it more interesting. I have not ventured into a lot of sci-fis lately, maybe a few here and there, and this just makes me wanna check out the genre. πŸ™‚ And again, the cover and the packaging guys, I’ve seen it with my own eyes in the bookstore and it’s just looked glorious.

 

9. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

23830990

 

I have only read one Patrick Ness novel (which is A Monster Calls) and after reading it, I knew I had pick every book Patrick Ness is going to publish! The Rest of Us Just Live Here is about the non-heroes, secondary, tertiary characters in a novel. Basically the nobodys. The premise really intrigues me as I’m I’m sure this is going to be another Patrick Ness masterpiece!

 

 

8. Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry

23492282

 

One of the young adult contemporary authors I’ve been meaning to read is Katie McGarry. I’ve included a lot of her books in my TBR list but for some reason, I have not picked up any of her works. In 2015 I intended to get Nowhere But Here because the premise looked really interesting, but again, for some reason, I didn’t 😦 I hear there’s a bad boy on a motorcycle aspect of itΒ so it must be good!Β Haha!Β 

 

 

7. Soundless by Richelle Mead

24751478

 

Soundless is a young adult fantasy set in a faraway kingdom, I believe. It includes Chinese folklore and it’s really interesting! The main character is named Fei, who lives in a village where everybody is deaf. The problem starts when every villager starts losing his sight as well, and the whole village is in danger of dying of hunger as the supply of food gets very few each week. Suddenly Fei starts to be able to hear and sets out to protect her village with sound as her weapon.

 

 

6. P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

20698530

 

This is the second book in the duology To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. I loved the first book, and I can’t wait to get into this one because I am dying to know who Lara Jean ends up with! Jenny Han’s writing is just very familiar and has its way of connecting to the reader. I’m sure I would totally love this as much as I did the first one.

 

 

 

5. An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

emberintheashes_jkt_5-1

 

I honestly don’t know what An Ember in the Ashes is about and I intend for it stay that way. This book has been getting so much hype in Goodreads and BookTube, and it’s a shame I wasn’t able to read it the year it was published. I wanna get into it not knowing anything about the plot ‘coz I don’t know, I wanna get mind blown I guess? I heard it isn’t for everyone, but I’m ready to take on the challenge.

 

 

4. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Adieh

tumblr_nocernYzo71r0yglfo1_1280

 

A re-telling ofΒ A Thousand and One Nights,Β The Wrath and the Dawn is a story where a king would take on a woman every day and eventually kill her at the dawn, before the next day starts. To stop this, the main character takes onthe challenge of becoming the king’s next wife so she can eventually kill him herself. I really want to do lots of re-tellings this year and I am so excited for this one! πŸ™‚

 

 

3. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

77493_original

 

Ahh, my third most anticipated release of 2015 which I didn’t get into is ACOTAR by Sarah J. Maas! I loved The Throne of Glass, and I’m still halfway through The Crown of Midnight that’s why I wasn’t able to get into this one! I promised not to start with another series until I get into Heir of Fire at least! ACOTAR must definitely happen soon!

 

 

 

2. Confess by Colleen Hoover

22609310-2

 

Colleen Hoover is definitely one of my favorites in the New Adult genre. I’ve read almost all of her works and I can’t believe I didn’t get Confess the moment it was released! It was a very hard decision to make, but I restrained myself because I was defending my thesis at around the publishing date of this one. The first quarter of 2016 is not going to end without me getting my hands into Confess! This is definitely happening soon!

 

 

1. November 9 by Colleen Hoover

n9cover-2

 

Another Colleen Hoover masterpiece got published in November and again, I wasn’t able to get it! I don’t know what’s wrong with me, guys! I hate myself for not buying November 9 sooner! 😦 This is definitely my most anticipated release of 2015 but life in school is just so haywire! I am so reading November 9 soonest! Ugh!

 

 

 

So that’s my Top 10 books published in 2015 I intended to get into but didn’t! I am hating myself as I do this list! Sooo many good books published last year! πŸ™‚

Tell me yours, too?

* **

Top 10 Tuesday is a hosted by The Broke and the BookishΒ where a new top ten list is featured each week πŸ™‚Β 

Happy reading always!

Screen Shot 2016-01-01 at 8.44.32 PM

 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #1: 2015 Releases I Meant To Get To But Didn’t!

  1. I think my TTT will have a couple of books in common with yours. It’s funny, because I actually ordered The Rest of Us Just Live Here and Nowhere But Here right after I got my Christmas money and they are now arriving today in the mail and then I will finally be able to read them!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m currently in the middle of reading Illuminae and it is SO GOOD. At first I was kind of skeptical because of all the hype surrounding it, but once the story gets going it’s so creepy and suspenseful and plot-twisty. I haven’t finished it yet, but I still definitely recommend it! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Good to hear you’re loving it, Holly! I am honestly intimidated by Illuminae, with all the hype and the good reviews all around. I’m scared I might be the odd one out and not like it! But I’m definitely going to read it!!!! ❀

      Like

  3. What Mel Said! I loved Illuminae like KAT READ THIS NOW. I loved it so much and November 9, basically every book on your list except November 9 & Illuminae I need to read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

