Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Book Review

 

Quick Stats
Title: A Monster Calls 
Author: Patrick Ness
Date Read: July 25th to July 29th 2015
Date Published: March 12th 2013 by Candlewick Press
My book format: Paperback/Own copy 
Goodreads Blurb:
An unflinching, darkly funny, and deeply moving story of a boy, his seriously ill mother, and an unexpected monstrous visitor.At seven minutes past midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting– he’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the nightmare he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It’s ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth. From the final idea of award-winning author Siobhan Dowd– whose premature death from cancer prevented her from writing it herself– Patrick Ness has spun a haunting and darkly funny novel of mischief, loss, and monsters both real and imagined.
 My thoughts
This book is going to change your life. I promise. 

So. This is my very first Patrick Ness book and to be honest, I did not expect a lot of things from it. Yeah, I know Patrick Ness is like one of the greatest authors out there, but I didn’t think I’d really love his works.

But boy was I wrong. After reading A Monster Calls, all I wanna do right now is to just go to the bookstore and get all the Patrick Ness novels I could get my hands into. HE IS THAT GREAT.

The writing was so simple, straight forward, direct to the point, and add all those adjectives describing clear and on point writing. He seemed to have compressed into a 200-something paged book all the lessons a person should learn through out his whole life. He touched on a lot of things – life, death, sacrifice, hope, happiness, pain, and most important of all – TRUTH.

This book just touched me in so many ways, and in so many parts of my life.

“ Sometimes, people need to lie to themselves most of all.”

***

“It’s only a dream.”
“But what is a dream, Conor O’Malley? Who is it to say that it is not everything else that is the dream,?” 

I look at this book and I ask how could it possibly have all the words that I need to hear right now? I just can’t explain how everything in this book is just so simple but at the same time so deep and so touching and so true.

I would totally recommend it to anyone. Whatever age group you may be, this book is for you. If you’re 10, read it. If you’re 25, you definitely should pick this up. If you’re 40, it doesn’t matter. Just please read this book because it’s going to change your life forever.

“You do not write your life with words,” the monster said. “You write it with actions. What you think is not important. It is only important what you do.” 

The last few pages made my heart break so hard I just sat and stared at the window after closing the last page. In fact I was still in denial that it was the last page already so I just kept on flipping and flipping the pages though the remaining ones were all blank already. It’s just so good, guys.

I know this book will stay with me for a long long time. In fact, though I don’t re-read books (at all), I would love to make re-visit with this one.

Generally
It was an awesome awesome experience reading this book! 🙂 I loved every bit. Loved every single part of it!
The Boklander Rating
5 Stars
4.5 stars! It was almost perfect! The thing that made me take away that 0.5 rating is probably because I wanted more and I wanted it to be longer, ‘coz it’s so good, guys. So achingly good!  
So that’s it, guys! I’ll see ya next post, and happy reading always!
KAT SIGN
4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

