Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Book Review

Red Queen is actually the very first book that I buddy-read with someone. I haven’t done buddy reading at all until this book and I found it to be really helpful, especially during those times when I no longer wanted to push through or when I wanted to put the book down for a while πŸ™‚ Buddy reading Red Queen with friends was such a great experience, and I’d definitely do it again! In fact, I am already in a read-along with some friends, and we’re doing Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson! πŸ™‚ So excited! Anyway, here goes my Red Queen review. I promise to warn you guys if there are spoilers before I actually go into the spoiling!

Quick Stats

Title: Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Date Published: February 10th 2015

Series: First book of the Red Queen Trilogy

My book format:Β Paperback, published by Harper Teen

Goodreads Summary:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The poverty-stricken Reds are commoners, living in the shadow of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers.

To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from the Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change.

Then Mare finds herself working at the Silver palace, in the midst of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control.

My thoughtsAaah, Red Queen. How do I start with this? At first I was pretty uninterested and kind of disconnected with the characters and the world and I guess that’s because I am coming from a very bad Legend trilogy hang over. I just finished reading Champion when I started reading Red Queen and Champion has set the bar really high. At first I found it quite slow and boring, with the way the characters are introduced, and with the way the setting is built up.

However, I guess it started to grow on me and I slowly loved and understood each character, especially when Mare was already brought to the palace of the Silvers to become a “slave.” One thing, though, that made it difficult for me to relate to Mare was the fact that she has no craft of her own. I even asked my friends whom I was buddy-reading with if they are not disturbed or irked by the fact that Mare is just stealing around when in fact she can learn a skill of how, which could therefore save her from being sent to war. Sal told me, though, that it’s probably because there were no available jobs anymore in their place so Mare was left without a choice. So yeah, okay. Accepted that logic, but still.Β Haha.Β 

Anyway, so at first I thought there would be a love triangle between Kilorn and Cal. But boy, was I wrong. So there’s another guy that is Maven and aaah. This isn’t a cheesy love triangle at all. So at first I was rooting for Kilorn but then there was Cal and of course he was just so hot and so gentlemanly that I instantly switched sides. Then suddenly Maven comes along and he was just so innocent and friendly and just perfect! So obviously, Kilorn was already out of the picture and it was just between Cal and his brother Maven. And through the scenes in the palace, I was flip flopping on whom I’d be rooting for and I was so confused, and aaaah my heart! πŸ™‚

But lo and behold,Β ANYONE COULD BETRAY ANYONE.

The plot twist, guys, the plot twist!!! It totally changed my loyalty to Maven and aaaahhh!!!Β I just can’t explain how I feel about that plot twist! I mean, why, and how, and what just happened there okay?!?! WHAT HAPPENED?!?! AND WHY DID IT HAPPEN!!!! WHY DID IT HAVE TO HAPPEN!!!Β 

At the same time, though, and in hind sight, I think it’s the best thing to happen and Victoria Aveyard is just a genius in doing that. Sigh. I won’t spoil anyone but this is a pretty roller-coaster kind of read.

Generally

The boring start would definitely be erased by how action packed the latter part of the book is! I mean, yeah, it took me probably a hundred pages before I could actually feel this book, and before I could actually immerse myself into it, but it was totally worth it! πŸ™‚ Plus, it is the forst book in the trilogy so you gotta give it the benefit of the doubt as it tries to still set things in their proper place . πŸ™‚

The Boklander Rating

 

 

 

4 Stars

 

So that’s it, guys! Happy reading, and I hope you give this book a try! πŸ™‚

KAT SIGN

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I KNOW RIGHT. The hangover for the legend trilogy is the worst. I think Legend is one of the best Dystopia’s I’ve read!!!! huhuhuhuhu CHAMPION the ending. I kinda agree though that your judgment might have been tainted a little…. πŸ˜‰
    The hype for Red Queen is really intense that’s why its kinda scary to start but after reading your review and that said plot twist, I’m soooo excited!!! Hope it will be good. πŸ™‚ Also, I love the covers of the books!

    Like

    • Red Queen is super hyped, it seems like nobody hated it at all! That’s why I was super scared I might not like it and be the odd one out! Good luck reading it! πŸ™‚ Will wait for your review! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

