Book Review: Legend by Marie Lu (Spoiler Free!)

Book Review Legend is the first book in The Legend trilogy by Marie Lu, followed by Prodigy and Champion.

Quick Stats

Title: Legend

Author: Marie Lu

Date Published: April 16th 2013

Series: First book in The Legend Trilogy

My book format: Paperback, published by SPEAK 

Goodreads summary:

From different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths… Until June’s brother is murdered, and Day becomes the prime suspect. In a shocking turn of events, the two uncover what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths to which their country will go to keep its secrets.

I just realized now how very short and unappealing Goodreads’ blurb on Legend is! Nah. Anyway, it really doesn’t matter, so here goes my review.

My thoughts

Writing Style: Marie Lu’s writing style is just so clear and direct that I didn’t find it difficult at all to adjust into the world she’s created. Whenever I read non-contemporaries, like sci-fi and dystopians such as this book, I usually take time to crawl into the world of the characters and I am usually slow in adjusting. With this one, however, I was sucked into the world right away and the transition was so easy! 🙂 Marie Lu definitely knows how to write!

Characters: June and Day are the main characters: Day is the Republic’s most notorious criminal, while June is the state’s most valuable asset. I usually look for a good character development when I read and Marie Lu gave me just that. Gah! She’s woven both Day and June’s character so nicely and I know these two will just stay with me forever. I love how June is a very strong female character, and how she just seems to know everything about people by just looking at them. And I always find her funny and adorable whenever she calculates the time it takes for her to do things! You have got to read it to understand! 🙂 However, even if she exudes a very strong personality, the other side of her is revealed when she met Day and starts falling for him (wait, this isn’t a spoiler, right? We all know they’re going to fall for each other at some point, yeah?).June is definitely one of the best female characters I have read thus far and I just can’t help but adore her ❤

In the same way, Day’s character was woven by Marie Lu so perfectly! I just love him! Like, aaaah, Day is so perfect I am so fangirling while writing this blog post! 🙂 I love how day is so protective of his family and how he puts his family above everything else, even his own safety. He is so funny, and witty, and sarcastic and just plainly adorable! Even if he is the most notorious criminal in the Republic, you can however see how Day is never afraid of opening up his feelings to the extent that I sometimes think he is more of the emotional one than June is. Aah, Day, no more words for him. You have to read this trilogy, please, I assure you you’ll fall for him too!

Generally

Since this is the first book in the trilogy, I am fairly satisfied with how it ended. So many times in this book that I laughed, teared up, giggled, and actually sobbed. In fact, seconds after I finished reading legend, I posted this as my Goodreads quick review: Screen Shot 2015-04-17 at 9.39.35 PM It is a very very good first book which made me want to dive into Prodigy right away! 🙂

The Boklander Rating

5 Stars
5 Legend stars because it’s just perfect!

(P.S. This is my first ever legit review in this blog so pardon the noob-ness of this post! Hihi. )

So that’s it, I’ll se ya next post, and happy reading always!

Kat Sign 2

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Legend by Marie Lu (Spoiler Free!)

Leave a Reply

