Guess I’m ready for a new genre!

It is a fact universally acknowledged that I LOVE READING. (Yeah, I have always loved the “universally-acknowledged line”! Thanks, Jane Austen!). But to be honest, I am scared of trying out other genres as I’m always stuck with my historical romances, mystery/thriller-romances, contemporary romances and general fictions. I’m kinda scared of getting disappointed in a book, so as much as possible, I just stick with the genre I am most comfortable with. This year, however, I wanna try out something new and just expand my reading horizon! Yay! And just last night, I’ve decided that the new genre I’m indulging my self in is *drum rolls please* DYSTOPIAN! 

It’s not super new to me, actually. I have read The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins, as well as the The Pandemonium series by Lauren Oliver last year. And surprisingly, I looooved looooved both of them! However, I never had the chance to read other dystopian novels after The Hunger Games and Pandemonium ‘coz, I dunno, I guess I just reverted back to my same, old, comfortable, happy genre.

But last night while I was Booktubing, one series caught my attention because of all the good reviews it’s getting. I looked for it in Goodreads and hey, it’s getting a 4+ stars rating, too! Apparently, it’s so good nobody has anything bad to say about it. I am talking about non other than *another drum roll please!THE LUNAR CHRONICLES SERIES by Marissa Meyer! 

cinder-2

I actually have never heard of Marissa Meyer before. Ever. But I guess I’m ready to take this big risk! (I am a huge author person! Versus a cover person or a title person or a plot person, etc.) Based on the reviews, this dystopian series is based on popular fairy tale characters, i.e., Cinder is based on Cinderella, Scarlet on Little Red Riding Hood, and Cress is based on Snow White. The twist, though, is that they are all cyborgs! I actually don’t know what to feel about that fact, because like I said, I have always been into the more realistic genres, but hey, whatever. I am so trying this series because, really, what have I got to lose?

I’m not even sure if it’s dystopian, I’m probably mixing up my genres. It’s a futuristic sci-fi novel, I believe. Yeah, that’s more accurate. But whatever. I’m reading it and I’m being really positive about this new venture! Cheers! 

Happy reading, everyone!

Kat

2 thoughts on “Guess I’m ready for a new genre!

  1. I thoroughly recommend the series. Just a note though, Cress is based on repunzel and Winter (to be released later this year) is based on snow white. Also, not all the characters are cyborgs, just the most important one 🙂
    Before I started it I was concerned I wouldn’t like it because it is a different kind of futuristic than that of the hunger games, the pandemonium series, and the divergent series, but I’m happy I read it because it is fantastic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

